Home   |  About Us   |  Contacts   |  Products    
 News Items:
 News Briefs
 Word To Life
 More News:
 Special Sections:
 2007 in review
 Inside the Curia
 2006 in review
 Vatican II at 40
 John Paul II
 Other Items:
 Client Area
 Did You Know...

 The whole CNS
 public Web site
 headlines, briefs
 stories, etc,
 represents less
 than one percent
 of the daily news

 Get all the news!

 If you would like
 more information
 about the
 Catholic News
 Service daily
 news report,
 please contact
 CNS at one of
 the following:
 (202) 541-3250


 This material
 may not
 be published,
 rewritten or
 (c) 2007
 Catholic News
 Conference of
 Catholic Bishops.

 CNS Story:

SYNOD-COUNCIL Oct-28-2008 (290 words) xxxi

New synod council includes two North American cardinals

By Cindy Wooden
Catholic News Service

VATICAN CITY (CNS) -- Before the world Synod of Bishops on the Bible ended, 12 members of the assembly were elected and three were appointed to the council that coordinates follow-up to the gathering and helps prepare the next Synod of Bishops.

The members of the Council of the General Secretariat of the Synod of Bishops also may assist Pope Benedict XVI in writing his post-synodal document.

The Vatican, publishing the names of the council members, did not distinguish between those elected by the 253 members of the Oct. 5-26 synod on the word of God and the three appointed by Pope Benedict.

The two members from North America are Cardinals Francis E. George of Chicago and Marc Ouellet of Quebec, who had served as the synod's recording secretary.

Three members of the Roman Curia will serve on the council: Nigerian Cardinal Francis Arinze, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments; Cardinal Walter Kasper, president of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity; and Archbishop Gianfranco Ravasi, president of the Pontifical Council for Culture and principal author of the synod's final message.

The other members of the council are:

-- Cardinal Oscar Rodriguez Maradiaga of Tegucigalpa, Honduras.

-- Cardinal Peter Turkson of Cape Coast, Ghana.

-- Cardinal Joseph Zen Ze-kiun of Hong Kong.

-- Cardinal Odilo Scherer of Sao Paulo, Brazil.

-- Archbishop Laurent Monsengwo Pasinya of Kinshasa, Congo, special secretary of the synod.

-- Archbishop Thomas Menamparampil of Guwahati, India.

-- Archbishop Diarmuid Martin of Dublin, Ireland.

-- Archbishop Mark Coleridge of Canberra-Goulburn, Australia.

-- Romanian Bishop Florentin Crihalmeanu of Cluj-Gherla.

-- Bishop Luis Tagle of Imus, Philippines.

The next general meeting of the world Synod of Bishops is expected to take place in 2011.


Copyright (c) 2008 Catholic News Service/USCCB. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or otherwise distributed.
CNS · 3211 Fourth St NE · Washington DC 20017 · 202.541.3250